Permissions: Users must have the Data Central Designer privilege to create and manage folders.
The folder structure in Data Central supports workspaces, visualizations, filter sets, and advanced filters.
The Custom folder cannot be edited.
Data Central Designer users can save folders as Public or Private; Private folders display in italics and gray font.
Create a New Folder
Folders can be created in several ways:
| 1. From the Save window, which opens when creating and saving a new workspace, visualization, filter set, or advanced filter. | 2. From the Workspace drop-down menu, click the Configure icon next to a workspace name to open the Save Workspace window, and then add a folder as shown in step 1. | 3. Clicking the Actions icon in the master header and selecting the Manage Objects option. This opens the Manage window. |
- Hover over a folder, such as the Custom folder. The Add Folder icon appears if permissions allow.
- Click the Add Folder icon.
- Enter the Name of the folder.
- Click the checkmark to save, or the X to cancel.
The newly saved folder displays in the list of folders in alphabetical order.
Modify Details from the Configure icon of a Workspace, Filter Set, Advanced Filter, or Visualization
Configure icon for workspaces, filter sets, advanced filters, and visualizations allows name updates, visibility and scope changes, folder deletion, and new folder addition.
- Access the item to be updated:
- Workspace: Click the Workspace drop-down in the master header.
- Filter Set or Advanced Filter: From the Filter Panel, click the Set & Advanced field to open the list of Filter Sets and Advanced Filters.
- Visualization: Expand Visualizations in the left navigation.
- Hover over the desired workspace, filter set, advanced filter, or visualization name. The Configure icon displays.
- Click the Configure icon. The Save window opens (for example, Save Workspace or Save Filters, depending on the item type).
- In the Save window, update the Name, Visibility, Roles, and Scope. To change the item's folder location, select a different folder in the Select Parent Folder field.
- Click Save.
Modify Folder Details from the Manage Window
Use the Manage window to manage folders and their contents, including workspaces, visualizations, filter sets, and advanced filters. All users can manage their own saved items. Only users with the Data Central Designer privilege can manage folders.
- Click the Actions icon in the master header, then select Manage Objects. The Manage window opens.
- From the Manage window, click the name of an item, such as the name of a folder, workspace, visualization, advanced filter, or filter set, to display its details.
- Modify items such as subfolders, workspaces, visualizations, advanced filters, or filter sets: update their name, and change their visibility, roles, and scope. To move an item from one folder to another, drag and drop it onto the name of the destination folder.
- Click Save.
Delete a Folder (and Items in a Folder), Workspace, Visualization, Advanced Filter, or Filter Set
To delete folders, workspaces, visualizations, advanced filters, and filter sets, users must have the Data Central Designer privilege, although all Data Central users can delete their own privately saved items.
Important: Use caution when deleting folders. Deleting a folder also deletes its child folders and any workspaces, visualizations, advanced filters, or filter sets within those folders.
Delete a Folder (and Items in a Folder)
- Click the Actions icon in the master header, then select Manage Objects. The Manage window opens.
- Hover over a folder name and click the Delete icon.
- The Delete Group window opens. Click Delete to delete the folder and its children, or click Cancel to stop the action.
Delete a Workspace, Visualization, Advanced Filter, or Filter Set
- Click the Actions icon in the master header, then select Manage Objects. The Manage window opens.
- Expand the folders to locate the item to delete.
Hover over the desired name of the workspace, visualization, advanced filter, or filter set to delete.
Tip: Hover over the icon next to the item name to see the type of item in a tooltip, such as Saved Workspace, Filter Set, Advanced Filter, or type of visualization
- Click the Delete icon.
- The Delete Item window opens. Click Delete to delete the item, or Cancel to stop the action.